Scout Premium Content

Pitcher of the Year: The Majority Decision

Pitcher of the Year: The Majority Decision

We'll give it up for Jason Green. He made a strong case for Matt Elliott as the Minor League Pitcher of the Year. It wasn't that Elliott's stats were hard to justify, he was brilliant all year long, and on the top of his game during the South Bend Silverhawks run to the Midwest League Championship. As usual FutureBacks acted as a democracy rather than a dictatorship, and unlike the votes for Position Player of the Year, Pitcher of the Year came out with a clear majority.

Dustin Nippert was just flat out amazing. "He led the Southern League in ERA, and I think if he'd been there all year long he probably would have been tops in wins as well," Nippert's Manager with the Double-A Tennessee Smokies, Tony Perezchica, says. That ERA, 2.38 is fantastic, as was his 8-3 record in Tennessee, but it was his reasons for not being with Tennessee all year that ultimately... Recommended Stories

Up Next


0 Fans online
    Join The Conversation