BayBears Win Southern League Championship
Trevor Bauer (Chip English/Mobiile BayBears)

Posted Sep 19, 2011

On Sunday night at Smokies Park, the BayBears trumped the Tennessee Smokies with a 6-4 victory to close out the Southern League Championship Series, three games to one. It was their third Southern League championship in franchise history and their first since 2004, when they split the title with the Smokies.

Trevor Bauer started for the BayBears in what would be the decisive Game 4. The third overall draft selection rebounded from back-to-back rough outings by tossing five solid innings while striking out seven. Jae-Hoon Ha homered off Bauer in the bottom of the first to put Tennessee on the board, but Bauer wouldn't be detoured as he shut the Smokies down for the next four innings.

Josh Ford was named SLCS MVP largely because of his performance in game four. His two-run homer gave the BayBears a 2-1 advantage in the top of the second over Trey McNutt. Matt Davidson cracked a solo home run in the sixth to make it 3-1.

After a walk and a single, Ford came through again.   He punched a base hit down the right field line that Jim Adduci misplayed, allowing Marc Krauss and Taylor Harbin to score. Ford came home on a sac fly from Jake Elmore to put the BayBears up by five.

Bryan Woodall allowed the Smokies to draw closer in the bottom of the seventh. Ha cracked a two-run double to pull Tennessee within a pair, capping off a three-run inning. Billy Spottiswood got the final out in the seventh with the tying run at the plate.

Yonata Ortega worked the first two outs in the eighth inning before handing the game to Evan Marshall, who did not join the BayBears until September. Marshall fanned Junior Lake to end the eighth and worked around a two-out single in the ninth to finish the ballgame. Marshall struck out Ha on a 1-2 fastball to begin the celebration.

BayBear Bits
  • Ford had 3 of Mobile's 6 hits Sunday and batted .421 in the postseason
  • Bauer combined with Jarrod Parker and Tyler Skaggs to fan 37 batters in six starts this postseason
  • Marshall did not allow a run in five postseason games

Are you a full member of If not, then you are missing out on the top Diamondbacks coverage we provide to our premium members, as well as full access to over 400 other sites.  Join us today!

Follow on Twitter

Related Stories
FutureBacks Power Rankings: August 2011
 -by  Aug 26, 2011
Bauer Dominates in First Double-A Start
 -by  Aug 14, 2011
D-backs Position Players of the Year
 -by  Oct 25, 2011

> Members-only Forums
> Insider Information
> MiLB &
   MLB Draft News
> Expert Chats

Sign Up Today!

Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
SP Trevor Bauer (profile)
3B Matt Davidson (profile)
C Josh Ford (profile)
WR Evan Marshall (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Baseball > Lee HS > Alumni
Baseball > UCLA > Alumni
Baseball > Yucaipa HS > Alumni
[View My HotList]